The Hound of the Baskervilles – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Mr Holmes, they were the footprints of a gigantic hound! – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, The Hound of the Baskervilles

Today I will be reviewing probably one of the most well known books in the world, The Hound of the Baskervilles. Written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in March 1902, it follows the adventures of Sherlock Holmes and Dr John Watson. It is a story about a particularly devious murder, one which uses both the supernatural and the normal.

This book, in my opinion, is one of the best crime books I have ever read. It ties both the supernatural and the logical and it definitely made me start to believe that there was something hellish going on in the book. The language was absolutely brilliant and I could even imagine what Baskerville Hall and the Grimpen Mire looked like, in all its luscious, natural glory.

9780141329390

As a book I would recommend for people aged 14+. This isn’t because the themes are adult, its because the text is very old fashioned and some people under this age might not be able to fully get it and if they don’t fully get it, the book won’t be as good. If you’re of this age and you are looking for a little bit more adult themed, but still looking for some crime type books, this is one I would definitely recommend.

If you are looking for this type of book but not written as old fashioned as it is, I would recommend Skulduggery Pleasant (This is the name if the series), though this incorporates magic and is a bit more gory, but has the same amount of crime solving (If you think this book sounds bad, you are mistaken. One of the best books I have read and I will be doing a review of it).

If you want to read my opinions on the book then click the read more tag.

If you liked this review, please give it a like. If you want to ask me any questions about this book or any others don’t hesitate to ask in the comments. And if you want me to review a certain book then also don’t hesitate to ask in the comments.

 I liked this book a lot because I am a lover of crime solving books. It was brilliantly written and had a great storyline. I was never able to get into the Sherlock Holmes books before but this one I started to read because of all the hype around it and when I started to get into it (a fair way into it), I started to enjoy it.

Like my previous review I loved this one for the realisticness of the book. When I first read the word I ‘supernatural’ I sighed because I assumed this was going to be another one of those books that incorporates it into the story (not that I don’t like those books, but simply because I wanted to read a different type of story for once) but when they brought out the ending that was in the book, I was dumbfounded. The way he was able to make this ending out of the whole supernatural premise was simply brilliant in my eyes.

There was one thing I did not like about it though. The book, in my opinion started really slowly and ended incredibly quickly (this probably doesn’t make sense). What I mean is at the beginning of the book, nothing really happened and only until about halfway into it did anything good happen. Then when it did draw to a close, it ended rather quickly. I won’t spoil it for any of you, but if you do read the book, you may or may not agree with me.

Leave a Reply

