I Am Number Four – Pittacus Lore

“He who doesn’t understand history is doomed to repeat it.” – Pittacus Lore, I Am Number Four

Today I will be reviewing a very popular book, I Am Number Four. Written by Pittacus Lore in August 2010, it follows John Smith around, an alien belong to the Loric race, whose home planet was destroyed by a different alien race, the Mogadorians. After the Mogadorians, or Mogs, as they are referred to in the books, destroy the planet Lorien, 9 children, the oldest 3 years old, travel to planet earth each accompanied by a Cêpan.

This book is absolutely brilliant. The premise is brilliant, the language is superb and each character you get attached to, almost immediately. The fact that the writer was able to build on a stereotypical ‘alien travelling to planet earth’ and use it as a simple stepping stone to make a book about powers as well. I absolutely love the way he used the spell to further the storyline and the action scenes, though few, are depicted brilliantly.

i+am+number+4

I would recommend this book for anyone over the age of 10. The writing is mature so it is a good book to read if you are around the age of 15, but suitable for younger readers. This may put some people off but this is my personal opinion and my personal opinion is that though this may be suitable for younger readers it is definitely still good for young adults. I would recommend it as a book for people who are looking for a cross between action and a tiny bit of romance and teenage rebellion.

If you are looking for a similar book then I would recommend the Skulduggery Pleasant series. It is a little bit more gory and tends to the more detective side of things but it is definitely similar and definitely good if you don’t like the romance part of it.

If you want to read my opinions on the book then click the read more tag.

If you liked this review, please give it a like. If you want to ask me any questions about this book or any others don’t hesitate to ask in the comments. And if you want me to review a certain book then also don’t hesitate to ask in the comments.

I liked this book because it had a good mix between romance and action. It also has a great and original storyline. I loved the depiction of the action scenes and unlike some books he hasn’t focussed on the action too much and was able to draw away from that and focus on his love life and developing his powers.

I didn’t like the way it was written. The language and the story was great but to me it felt like it was a bit too forced, the way he went from one thing to another was a bit clunky in my opinion and the exposition was definitely forced. But this doesn’t take away from the fact that this is a great book.

Leave a Reply

